Skip to main content

We have a truly exciting announcement about a valued member of our team! We have a team member up for an award!

The Safety & Health Excellence (SHE) Awards UK celebrate innovation and achievement across the UK’s health and safety industries. The program and the award encompass the British Safety Industry Federation (BSIF) Awards which have been designed to promote innovation and excellence within the occupational health and safety sphere. The awards have been created to help strengthen industries and SHE activities around the country.

We are proud and pleased to announce that J&I Cleaning’s Sara Czerniawska has been nominated for a SHE Award for 2023! Shortlisted for the Alan McArthur Unsung Hero Award category, she has beat out 220+ entries to take a place on the list. This massive accomplishment in being chosen over so many others makes this shortlist nomination an even more impressive achievement. It will come as no surprise that J&I management and the team will be cheering her on from the sidelines. We hope to be there on the big night and hear her name called to take out the award!

Introducing The Alan McArthur Unsung Hero Award Sponsored by 3M

The award category that Sara has been nominated for was launched in memory of Alan McArthur who dedicated over 20 years to innovating and improving the UK health and safety space. This award acknowledges innovators and advancements in health and safety which we are proud to say Sara and the J&I team exemplify. Discover the full shortlist of this category of nominees below. 



  • Julia Stewart: Jordans Ryvita
  • Sara Czerniawska: J&I Cleaning Services
  • Tanya Aspinall: Medicines Discovery Catapult
  • Ian Fik: TSO
  • George Allcock: Birmingham Health, Safety and Environment Association
  • Jayne Downey: Travis Perkins PLC
  • Ray Jeffery: Martin-Baker Aircraft Ltd
  • Deborah Sumner: Kerax Ltd

The Awards Gala Event

All the winners of each of the Safety & Health Excellence Awards will be revealed at the upcoming gala dinner that will be held at The Vox, NEC Birmingham in April 2023. There will be 550+ people in attendance representing the best and most influential companies and individuals across the entire industry and celebrating the shortlisted nominees and winners on the night. This prestigious evening event will celebrate the nominated individuals and companies for each of the categories with a VIP drinks reception, a glamorous three-course meal, magic acts, live music and a range of entertainment all hosted by TV’s Tess Daly. This will be a big night for all involved and we wish all the various nominees the very best of luck in taking the award in their respective categories. 

team photo - solo close up 2

Discover More About the Awards Categories

In addition to the Alan McArthur Unsung Hero Award, there are a few more categories featured at the event. These span across industries and activity types that will be recognised at the awards. All other nominees included in the full Safety & Health Excellence Awards 2023 Shortlists are on the following lists.


Health and Safety Manager of the Year – Sponsored by RS 

  • Alison Glover – Tameside MBC
  • Hannah France – Blue Group
  • Andrew Thompson – Cleveland Group
  • Robert Ellis – Hunter Safety Group
  • Tavid Dobson – RSSB
  • Kris Kelly – ADT Workplace
  • Faye Colton – Aramark UK
  • James Southern – Wilson James
  • Michael Tunrer – Clarke Energy Ltd
  • Les Saunders – AC Landscapes & Treeworks UK Ltd
  • Mark Smith – Openfield Agriculture Ltd
  • Leone Reast – Optivo

Rising Star of the Year – Sponsored by Evotix 

  • Lina Baleulyah – Birkin Group
  • Rob Canham – Terra Firma
  • Meryl Kay – Burton Security Ltd
  • Kieran Kerswell – Abellio Rail Replacement
  • James Kemery – Keyplan Engineering Ltd
  • Kirtee Patel – Mettler Toledo Ltd
  • William Parffit – Buro Happold
  • Joseph Smith – Viridor
  • Taylor Stevens – Berkeley Homes Southern
  • Richard Tipping – Auto Windscreens
  • Charlotte Waller – Schaeffler (UK) Limited
  • Ian Walter – Avonline Network Services

Health and Safety Team of the Year – Sponsored by NEBOSH 

  • ADT Workplace
  • The Automobile Association
  • Biffa
  • Dimensions UK
  • Harrisons Respiratory Protection
  • Elis UK
  • Essential Site Skills
  • Eyton Solutions
  • John Pye & Sons Ltd
  • Platform Housing Group
  • STM Group (UK) Ltd
  • Thrive Homes

Health and Safety Project of the Year 

  • DFS Trading Ltd
  • Ramsey Timber Group
  • Watermans Environmental Solutions
  • JBT
  • Creative Assembly
  • The Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust
  • Hitachi Rail in partnership with BB&A
  • B S Teasdale and Son Ltd
  • One Creative Environments Ltd
  • Turnbull
  • Essential Site Skills

Best use of Health and Safety Data – Sponsored by Discovering Safety 

  • Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust
  • Nomura
  • RES
  • National Access & Scaffolding Confederation
  • Teagle Manufacturing Ltd
  • O.C.O Technology 
  • Colas
  • Proseal UK Ltd
  • IMI plc
  • Bouygues UK
  • TSO 
  • D Morgan PLC

Best Driver Risk Management Performance – Sponsored by National Highways 

  • FM Conway
  • Heineken UK
  • CLEAN Linen Services
  • TES 2000
  • Consort Frozen Foods

Best Health and Safety in Manufacturing – Sponsored by Martor UK &

Nestle Waters UK

  • Teagle Manufacturing Ltd
  • Mayborn Group
  • Polypipe Building Services
  • JBT
  • Först Global
  • Kepak
  • Kerax Ltd
  • Novanta Technologies
  • Glatfelter

Best Health and Safety in Construction

  • Jarvis Contracting
  • Stockport Homes Group
  • National Access & Scaffolding Confederation

Distributor of the Year 

  • Cromwell
  • Lyreco UK
  • Tower Supplies

Marketing Campaign of the Year 

  • 3M
  • Evotix
  • Sunbelt Rentals
  • Gas Networks Ireland
  • Essential Site Skills
  • ToughBuilt Industries UK Ltd
  • Martor UK Ltd

The Safer Logistics Award – Sponsored by Logistics Matters 

  • DPD
  • National Highways
  • Proseal UK Ltd
  • Weetabix
  • Vodafone Idea

Campaign of the Year 

  • BAE Systems Maritime Services
  • Cromwell
  • D Morgan plc
  • Först Global
  • EKFB
  • Keller
  • Marks & Spencer
  • Costain-Arup
  • Protector Insurance
  • Orbit Group
  • Vantec
  • Weetabix
  • Ellis UK

Woman of the Year Award – Sponsored by Cromwell 

  • Tanya Aspinall – Medicines Discovery Catapult (MDC)
  • Rachel Davison – Stanley Black & Decker
  • Barbara Derecka – Proseal UK Ltd
  • Jane Downey – Travis Perkins PLC
  • Fran Collison – Aramark UK
  • Emily Forbes – Barry Town Council
  • Ruth Baird – Sygma Safety & Events Ltd
  • Katie Hunter – Hunter Safety Group
  • Becky Slater – Bagnalls
  • Sarah Valentine – Eversheds Sutherland
  • Dee Thomas – Geneco/ Turnbull

Discover More About The Awards

To explore more about the award, nominees, and the companies involved, take a look at the SHE Awards website for a deeper insight into the 2023 event. If you are an industry professional and wish to attend the event, tickets are also available for purchase online.

    Open chat
    Book Now Instantly 😀
    Hello 🙂,
    Need help? or book now with us instantly!